England vs India: Rohit Sharma sets new captaincy world record after India win Southampton T20I

England vs India: Rohit Sharma sets new captaincy world record after India win Southampton T20I

Another day, another record for Rohit Sharma as the star India batter became the first-ever captain to win 13 successive T20 International matches after India hammered England by 50 runs in the first of a 3-match T20I series in Southampton on Thursday, July 7.

Rohit Sharma extended his winning run to 13 -- a streak that began right after India's T20 World Cup disappointment last year. Notably, Rohit had recovered from Covid-19 to lead India in the first T20I against England but the skipper was initially not set to be part of the game as the Test regulars, who were part of the rescheduled 5th Test, were rested for the series opener.

Rohit Sharma led from the front as he hit a quickfire 24 off just 14 deliveries as he laid a solid platform for the big-hitters to build on. India posted 198 on the board, thanks to cameos from Rohit, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, and a match-winning fifty from Hardik Pandya.

In response, Jos Buttler's England could manage only 148 on the board as Hardik shone with 4 wickets, becoming the first Indian player to hit a fifty and pick up as many wickets in a T20I match. Senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar got the big wicket of Buttler for 0 and young Arshdeep Singh impressed with 2 wickets on debut.


Rohit Sharma - 2019 to present

Ashgar Afghan (Afghanistan) - 2018 to 2020

Ramesh Satheesan (Romania) - 2020 to 2021

Notably, Rohit has led India to a 3-0 sweep over New Zealand at home, and 3-0 sweeps against West Indies and Sri Lanka since taking over as full-time captain. Rohit's streak began in November 2019 wherein he led India against Bangladesh at home and includes a victory as captain in their 5-0 drubbing of New Zealand in New Zealand in 2019.

Notably, Rohit did not lead India in the 5-match T20I series against South Africa in June and also missed the 2 T20Is in Ireland.